About… movies

A couple of days ago I watched “To Rome With Love”, as you might know, a Woody Allen movie. I didn’t like it at all. I was already kind of annoyed by “Vicky, Christina, Barcelona” but what saved that movie for me was the performance of the trio Cruz – Bardem – Johansson.

Although I like anthology films very much, this one was a pain… If it weren’t for the appearance of Roberto Benigni I wouldn’t have watch it to the end. His story of being paparazzied was the only one enjoyable. It is kind of astonishing that a very good director and a bunch of remarkable actors turn out to such a boring movie. Remember anyone “Night On Earth”? That was a good one. Or “Paris, je t’aime”, a bit crowded but still good. And not to forget “The Hours”.

So, watching “To Rome…” I had a lot of time to let my mind wonder about why there are so little good movies coming out? And is it really like that? Or do we just getting more crabby, over saturated and for that hard to please? I don’t know, if it’s me or the others. But I am kind of bored with a lot of movies, specially those from hollywood. Don’t get me wrong. I am kind of a movie nerd on one side and not so on the other. I don’t look for the ultimate intellectual or artistic response in every movie I watch. I also like to watch movies just to be entertained. They don’t need to have a deep meaning or a sudden twist to be good for me. But does really every movie needs a sequel, e.g.? I would not be surprised if Casablanca, what happened next, or Titanic II would come out next year. I think “The Godfather” is responsable for that phenomena. That was one of the first who entailed sequels.

There you go, it is all Francis Ford Coppola’s fault.

At least he has a daughter who made a pretty good movie that reconciled me with hollywood movies – “Lost in Translation”.

So, here is something good.

Leave a Reply

