That Time Of Year

It’s starting all over again. Mid April, time to start the yard time, again. Still I am a beginner when it comes to gardening and will probably stay so, for the rest of my life. But that’s o.k. because I don’t take it too serious and put fun in front of output and accuracy.

First of all I painted the one and only deck chair we have so far. Last year it was kind of powder blue, this year I covered it in azure.

DSC_0850_new

Looks very much greek.

Then the usual procedure as every year of replacing plants that didn’t make it through winter. Which in my case is always rosemary. I don’t get it, everyone tells you they are easy to handle, but I manage to kill mine at the end of every freeze. That is odd. I get it over winter but the moment the sun is getting warmer again, it dries out. No matter how much I water it, whether I cover it or not, after the first warm days in the sun the branches shrivel. Whatever. I decided to let nature take its course and get a new plant – together with oregano. My three lavender are still in good shape.

DSC_0847_new

That’s the proof, my last year lavender looks fine, all of them.

And because I discovered tarragon as my new favourite spice herb I also bought one (actually two) of those. It probably is because in Germany you get mainly russian tarragon and in Valais the french one, which have a more intense flavour, that I like it so much.

DSC_0848_new

French Tarragon freshly potted by moi.

Besides the plant shopping I also got some new garden tools and discovered a whole new world out there. Don’t take me for a moron but I never realized that you can buy garden tools specially made for women, sorry, ladies. I had to be in need for a spade to made this find.

DSC_0852_new

No one told me that before.

My new spade…

DSC_0851_new

Isn’t it cute.

garden shears for small hands…

DSC_0854_new

Still wrapped.

and I definitely had to get a pair of those.

DSC_0853_new

Old vs new, guess who’ll win.

Now I just have to start the job…

Leave a Reply

